Lead Abatement Supervisor / Worker Initial Course
The Michigan Lead Abatement Act of 1998 requires certification of individuals engaged in lead-based paint activities in the state of Michigan. Certification requires the individual to meet minimum education and/or experience qualifications, successfully complete an accredited training course, and pass a third-party certification examination. Upon successful completion of the exam, a State of Michigan lead certification card will be issued to you. An individual is eligible to take the certification exam no more than three times within six months after receiving a course completion certificate.
Certification is valid for three years, with an annual maintenance fee. Prior to the end of each three year period, a certification in good standing may be renewed by successful completion of an appropriate refresher course and successful completion of a third party exam.
Course Duration: 24 Hours for Workers 40 Hours for Supervisors
License Fees: $50 for Workers, $75 for Supervisors
Testing Fees: $75 For Workers and Supervisors
To be certified, you must:
Take an approved training course
Submit a Lead Professional certification application
Pass the State certification (3rd party) exam. Certification (3rd party) exams are usually scheduled twice each month. When we receive a complete application, including all fees, you will receive an exam notice in the mail. All exams will be offered on each exam date.